A little bit of this week…

Greetings from Gulfport!! Lots of life to fill in on this blog after losing over six months of posts…but I am brushing my knees off and jumping back into it – here comes 2014!

Christmas and New Year’s went by far too swiftly and with a GREAT deal of excitement.

Now I am trying hard not to think about being in class exactly one week from tonight…instead of cuddled up on the couch with the one I love.

Back in August I went back to school to pursue my Master’s full time, after a year long hiatus.  I left an invigorating, challenging, 24/7 job that I really excelled in…to a part-time position in Human Resource with a very flexible boss.  My roots at T. Parker Host started in Accounting, and I consider this “stint” in HR to be a similar experience.  It is extremely convenient for where I am currently in my life and I am getting to learn about a portion of the business that most upper level manager do not even dabble in.  After all, our PEOPLE are our greatest asset.  Human Resources is about ensuring that (1) we recruit only the best and the brightest, (2) we give them the tools to succeed and grow with us and (3) we hold onto our top talent for the duration of their careers.  Currently we are undergoing major strategic human resource planning and I look forward to being part of that first phase of implementation in the next few months…

Personally, this flexibility has been a gift over these last few months.  Jay is going on a six month long deployment in February, and due to my “boss’s” flexibility I have been able to spend a lot of time with him.  Three weeks in August, a few days in October and November, and now another three weeks with him before my classes start again.

We took the long way from Norfolk to Atlanta and arrived in Gulfport on Sunday afternoon and settled into a routine.  Lots of cooking and cuddling, with a few errands and TV thrown in here and there.  After the holidays we were both feeling the need to get some whole, clean food back in us.  I kid you not we ate Christmas cookies for a meal or two here and there, not to mention the pancake breakfasts we had come accustomed to.

Jay’s sister Margaret gave me the “Primal Cravings” cookbook for Christmas, so we dove in head first!

On the menu this week:

Thai Chili Chicken Pork Meatballs + Asparagus

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 7.07.53 PM Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 7.07.43 PM

Cuban Burgers with Plantain “Buns”

Cowboy Hash

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 7.11.52 PM

We’ll see how our renditions measure up to these beautiful pictures…but if the past is any indication of the future, we will certainly not be disappointed!  Jay and I are quite the pair in the kitchen, and we truly enjoy cooking at home over going out almost any night 🙂 Posting about our meal planning this week reminds me of the tons of pictures yet to be posted on this blog of my California trip, which means lots and lots to come for #TBT posts.  stay tuned!

One thought on “A little bit of this week…

Leave a Reply

