A weekend for the books

With special plans for Friday – I knew my weekend would be off to an awesome start! But little did I know just how epic it would turn out to be…so let’s rewind.

PART 1

As soon as I got engaged, I knew I wanted to ask my Bridemaids to be in my wedding in a special way.  After all, they are there to make sure my day goes by flawlessly and be my encouragement especially through the next 5.5 months of Jay’s deployment.  I knew it was going to be on Valentine’s Day – and waiting to tell them was the hardest part!  I wanted them each to have a special “Valentine” from me, asking them to “Be Mine.”  I looked through Pinterest and Etsy for ideas and found some that were completely over the top – from jewelry to edibles to nights out on the town.  I wanted to keep it simple and classy.  And here’s what I ended up with:

Image

Image

What do you think? Cute right? Next step was to actually find the roses to which my clever ballad belonged to…

Image

I bought a “bunch” of 25 roses from Norfolk Wholesale during lunch one day, and was SUPER SURPRISED to find them in my *wedding color.* I had so much fun arranging them in little bud vases, that were actually leftover from my parents wedding over 25 years ago! 25 and 25, do we have a theme going on here? 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

And for the Maid of Honor:

Image

 

A bakers dozen! Since the Maid of Honor typically bears the brunt of the organizing responsibilities, I wanted to thank her EARLY on for 1) the support she has given me thus far 2) the incredible Maid of Honor I know she will be! Since she is the only member of my bridal party that doesn’t live in Norfolk, I had to make some delivery arrangements via her doll of a boyfriend, Ryan.  Sure enough, he got on the road early and made it to her apartment in DC by 6 PM, just in time for her to call me with a “YES” before I made the rest of my deliveries…

Image

From 6 PM to 7 PM when my class started, I made personal deliveries to all Bridesmaids except one, who as on the way back into town.  It was SO sweet to ask them in person, girls who I have been friends with since our preschool days and who were just as excited to be asked as I was to ask them.  Jay’s sister Margaret is also in the wedding, and I surprised her at home just in time for her to be stepping out of the shower, and even have a photo to document! We were certainly be laughing at that one for years to come.

Last stop was to my friend Taylor’s house who is that big sister I NEVER had.  We went to the same high school but it wasn’t until we met at college at UVA that she adopted me as her own.  I have looked up to her ever since.  For her drive, her free spirit, her all around awesomeness and obviously our shared passion for all things active! Taylor is an avid Crossfiter and even completed a Triathlon.  We are looking forward to running our first 1/2 Marathon together in April…and a few other events leading up to the Wedding that are To Be Announced!

Image

One of my golden rules for life that I adopted from my Dad is “If you are going to do something, do it right.”  I knew I was going all out for the “Ask” for my Bridesmaids, and they were all so appreciative and excited to be asked.  But do you know what the icing on the cake was? HEARING MALES compliment me on a job well done.  One of Taylor’s BFF’s came up to me at the gym this week to tell me how impressed he was and Ryan, Kali’s boyfriend texted me Friday night to tell me how sweet it was to “go all out for her.”  My response? These girls deserved it!

PART 2

And then we fast forward to Saturday night.  Somewhere in between asking Taylor to BMB (be my bridesmaid) and heading back to her apartment (in my old building), I managed to do some yoga, have some R&R and pack a bag for my staycation! Taylor and I had big plans for dressing up and going out (which I don’t seem to have the time for anymore) and also a running group meet up the next morning.  While I only live 10 minutes away, it was WAY more fun to stay in Ghent and have a sleepover 🙂

The theme was HOLLYWOOD GLAM, and the party was a Mermaid Winery.  Mermaid is an “urban winery” meaning they make their own wine and have a tasting room, but grow the grapes elsewhere.  Because last time I checked, grapes don’t grow in Ghent.   The event was free of charge, glasses of wine were only $3, and there was a costume contest to boot! Now it was only a matter of getting GLAMMED OUT for the red carpet…

Image

 Taylor’s style was “Cindy Lauper,” complete with a floor length heirloom fur for the sheer fun factor.  This dress was actually a million-dollar dress (in value only) of my mom’s that I wore for my Grandparents 50th anniversary.  Does it look incredible on Taylor OR WHAT?  Needless to say, this dress has seen some majorly fun times!

Image

I went with an “Old Hollywood” theme, wearing a floor length dress, CURLS and an incredible pair of vintage earrings that I wish I had a better picture of.  The dress is one I wore during my Debutante season and features an open back and stunning mermaid cut, hugging the hips and then fanning out from the knees down.

The night was filled with Paparazzi! We were given roses when we walked in the door, and even had our picture taken with OSCAR:

1901599_10203089039086263_1971285064_n

Other notable guests included Audrey and Marilyn:

1174633_588920284519015_945211104_n     1959284_588920551185655_1848901749_n

And you’re dying to know who won the costume contest right? Our own Taylor was not only nominated for the contest but also the runner up! The first place prize was given to those dashing men next to Audrey in the picture above, which was only appropriate given the Valentine’s Day Love is Love theme in celebration of the Supreme Court of VA deeming the ban on same-sex marriage unconstitutional.

Once dressed up, the only place to go is out right? Taylor and I had a blast heading out to our “regular bar” to meet up with a ton of our Crossfit friends…

Image

Image

Image

I LOVE THESE GIRLS! both new friends and old friends, the night was a success.  Taylor and I felt incredible dressed to the nines and had a blast.  It was certainly a step aside of our “normal thing.”

And how was that running date the next morning? Despite a bit dehydrated – we killed a tough 6 miles! Work hard, play harder right?  Not only do we all have demanding jobs, family and school commitments we have a passion for working out together and encouraging each other. 

While I certainly “played” more than usual this weekend, I am so so glad I got to take advantage of the bonus Monday holiday.  My stay-cation was more fun than I ever imagined, and all of my bridesmaids said YES to boot! With a busy few weeks ahead of me, and wedding planning in full swing, Let. the. games. begin.

 

Leave a Reply

